Perceptions of Work

My children and I have been having an excellent week outdoors.  Despite the return of colder weather and snow.  We have been working to clean up the tree that came down in the Fall.  I want to salvage as much of it as possible.  We have been picking up sticks to use in the construction of our hugelkultur tomato beds (more on that later).  The children have really been enjoying seeing how high they can pile the sticks before we drag them on a tarp across the yard.

There was also a lot of sawdust created, which we raked and shoveled into some large bins for later use.  The boys have their own pint-sized spades and they have been using to blissfully scoop sawdust.  Once that job was completed, they began helping me shovel dirt into buckets and emptying them out into the divots in the lawn that the limbs made as they experienced the full force of gravity’s pull.

So what has made this ‘work’ so joyous for us?  Often when things seem like ‘work’ the children look for a hiding place!  I believe the success of the tree cleanup has been treating it as something to look forward to whilst I’m outdoors with my children.  Stacking functions.  While they happily go about their play, I have taken to the task of working on cleanup –  but without it taking over my attention to their worlds of play.  In the first few days, I was interrupted many times.  Sometimes only working for 5 or 10 punctuated minutes.  The beauty of picking up tree branches (and most tasks, although I have difficulty convincing myself of this) is that it could easily be interrupted and returned to at a later time.  Each time we were outside, I’d pick away at it a bit more.  The children started to take notice, and wanted to join in.  I was enjoying the activity, and so were my children.  There was no predetermined end goal, no timeline, no rush.  It started to become what we were doing outside.  My eldest is excited to plant the grass seed and rope off the area, but we’ll have to wait a week or so until it warms up a bit.

When I treat things like work and drudgery, that’s what they become.  I feel it, my children feel it.  It comes out in my words, tone of voice and body language – despite every effort to conceal it!  When I can accept what is, and do what needs to be done with joy in my heart, the task has potential to become tolerable, perhaps even fun, or if I’m really on top of my game, a meditative practice.  The feel of our inner landscape makes all the difference in our projected view of the outer world.

3 comments

    1. Thank you. We were out this morning doing some more cleanup. I’m so glad I’m able to find joy in the work now! I used to want to rush through it all to ‘get things beautiful’ but circumstance has taught me this is a false ideal and to enjoy the journey 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

